The road to freedom Part 2 of 6

Please see part one of this post before reading here. 
If you read my post about my confrontation with my brother and Satan, his wife, at my mom’s house, then you know what happened after my brother found out that I had filed the will. If you didn’t read it, you can read it here. (Trust me, it’s a worthy read). To summarize, I caught my brother and Satan removing items from my mom’s house after she died. At that point no one was appointed as executor and no one had authority to remove items and/or tell anyone they could remove items from her home. In fact, prior to this I was told by my brother that I wasn’t allowed to take anything from the house. That night, my brother accused me of forging the letter that was sent to me along with my mom and dad’s wills, by the lawyer who wrote them. All the letter said was that I had got in contact with him and requested the original copies of the wills. What good forging that would do……well your guess is as good as mine! Basically said, my brother was pissed that his attempt to gain control over my mom’s estate and make some extra money while he’s at it, was foiled.
When I filed the will in mid December I tried reaching out to one of the named executors, my Aunt Debbie. At that point, I didn’t even bother with my Aunt Bea, the other named executor. I know my aunt Bea, and this stuff is all way over her head. I knew her participation as executor was going to be extremely limited and my Aunt Debbie was going to do most, if not all of the work. I sent aunt Debbie an email and I text her. In all I tried to reach out peacefully and amicably, five separate times to try to talk things out and move past things, so we can carry out my mom’s wishes in the way she wanted us to…….in return I got nothing but crickets. She never responded. At this point in time I was starting to get a little nervous. My Aunt Debbie and Aunt B were essentially in control of my life at this point. They were in control of my memories. They were in control of the only thing that was left of my family and I started to get really nervous. 
After the incident at my mother’s house with my brother and his wife, and then me subsequently finding out that she ran right to my aunts and they comforted her, it was over. There were just too many red flags, and it was becoming clear to me that I wasn’t going to be treated fairly. My aunts wouldn’t speak to me no matter how amicably I tried to approach them. They were even using my brother’s lawyer to represent them. It was becoming very clear to me that I was the odd man out. It was clear at this point that my aunts were on my brother’s side and not mine. They can pretend all they want, but BOTH of my aunts know who was really there for my mom. They knew how much I did for her, and they knew my brother and his wife weren’t there. They knew how my mom felt about her. They knew what my mom’s wishes were. 
Their anger for me and hatred of the truth and reality, started to over power their love and respect for my mom, and that’s when I decided that I had to take action and put a stop to this crazy shit. I voiced my concerns to my lawyer and that was when he told me that I had a right to contest the will and object to my aunts being the executors. Will contests are very costly and I knew this prior to going into this. I was not looking to piss away my inheritance, but at the same time, I wasn’t going to take that chance that my memories would be stolen from me and so when my aunts finally decided to file their paperwork in march, my lawyer filed an objection for me. 
Most likely when push came to shove, I didn’t have much on my aunts except for their negligence to protect the assets, and the fact that they were telling my brother and Satan they can go on a shopping spree in my mother’s house. The problem here was that my aunts were CLEARLY showing favoritism to my brother and refusing to communicate with me. They were having him over for dinners and holidays. They were still friends with him and his wife on Facebook (me and my husband were both blocked), and what was probably the most unfair to me was they they were all using the same legal counsel. In fact, my brother paid the retainer for the lawyer so he can file their petitions to the court. I’m not sure how any of that would’ve fared in court. Technically we had no solid proof or evidence on any wrong doing on the part of my aunts, but since they were so closely tied with my brother, who was perjuring himself and doing all sorts of other crazy shit (which I will get to shortly) it wasn’t looking good for them. The goal of me filing the objection was to sort of ruffle their feathers and rattle their cages (god, if only they were in cages….my life would be a lot easier). All joking aside, we just wanted to throw up some type of road block to make their lives more difficult. I had no intention of bringing this to litigation. 
I filed my objection in early March, sometime during the first week. Things were pretty quiet after that, for a few weeks. Boy was I anxious as I awaited to hear something back. It was like the quiet before the storm. Finally on March 30th, my cousin Nikki called me… I answer the phone and she’s like, “holy shit! Did you read that email?”. “What email?” I asked, and she was like, “Holy shit, your brother sent an email to everyone in the family.”. Sure enough I open up my inbox and here is what I saw. 
[My name]
I’ve heard that you are in the process of objecting to the Will that

you and your attorney filed in Surrogates Court, which divides mom’s

estate 50/50. Your objection will not change the settlement of the

estate, it will waste away the money she worked so hard for.  

I was under the impression that since YOU filed the Will, which names Aunt Debbie and Aunt Bea as executrices, you would sign the Waiver and Consent as I did, and Letters Testamentary would be issued

shortly. Thus an estate account would start paying all of her expenses instead of me. Since you are dragging this out with the next court date is 11/13/2017 (see attached Pre-Trial Order), I will NOT be paying any more expenses. 

Specifically: 

  • I won’t be paying the oil bill. The account has a $600+balance and no more oil will be delivered and the heat will be turnedoff. The oil will not last till 11/13/2017. 
  •  I won’t be paying the electric bill. The electric will be disconnected.
  •  I won’t be paying the water bill.
  • I won’t be paying the homeowner’s insurance for the house. Once squatters or vandals are in house no damage they cause will be covered.
  • The car payment is several months past due. The car will be repossessed.
  • Due to the house being vacant, without utilities, and apparently abandoned, it will be susceptible to vandalism, squatters and/ortheft.

I understand that you’re concerned that you’re not going to be treated fairly in the settling of the Estate. I also understand that you’re concerned that mom’s wishes aren’t going to be carried out. 
Consider that: 

  •  A Public Administrator is answerable to Surrogate’s Court and has the same fiduciary responsibilities as executrices do. If you feel that you are being treated unfairly by either, your remedy is the same; you file a complaint with Surrogates Court and they compel the Administrator or executrix to comply with the Will.
  • A Public Administrator’s is not a free public service. It will cost over $18,000, while Aunt Debbie  and Aunt Bea would be free. (Not true they could’ve collected up to 3% of the entire value of the estate) 
  • The Public Administrator ALSO hires an attorney with additional legal fees in the neighborhood of $5,000. 
  • The Estate’s attorney’s fee will be nearly $15,000 to defendagainst these objections and I imagine your attorney’s fee will be similar 
  • The sum of these fees will be at least $50,000 if not more and in the end the estate will be divided 50/50 as mom wished.
  • If you continue with this and when you lose the case in November, the Estate will NOT pay your attorney’s fees.
  • The Estate’s attorney WILL be paid by the Estate to defend against your case. Half of the fee to defend against your objections will be paid by your inheritance.  All of the fee to prosecute your objections will also be paid by you.

If you truly are concerned that mom’s wishes be carried out and that the estate’s assets not be squandered, as your sworn affidavit states, then it would be in your best interest to drop these objections and let your aunts do what mom trusted them to do!”

I have NEVER read such a load of vile bullshit in my life. I love how he thinks I’m stupid and my lawyer did not explain the consequences to me. Before I even get into it, I should explain that this email was forwarded to several other family members, which is sick. What’s even more sick, is that he BCC’d them. For anyone who’s not familiar with email language, there’s “CC” and “BCC”. When you compose an email you can send it to more than one person using the “CC” (carbon copy) box. When the email is received on the other end, they will be able to see who else the email was sent to because the names will be displayed on the header of the email. When you use “BCC” (blind carbon copy) you can send the email to multiple people but the original recipient won’t be able to see who else received the email. I had no idea you could even do this until now. Just another shady move in Satan’s playbook. 

Obviously this was not not only in an attempt to manipulate me, but them as well. I do not know if my brother alone was capable of writing such a manipulative letter. He may have worded it, but I don’t know if he’s responsible for all of the content, because of how highly manipulative it is. Personally, I believe his lawyer is an idiot if he advised him to write this. At the end of the day it doesn’t matter who wrote it. What matters was what it’s intent was. He was trying to accomplish two things here. One was obviously trying to scare, guilt and bully me into dropping my objection. The other was trying to paint me as a difficult person who’s making things hard and wasting time and money. He also wanted to make it seem as if I were trying to fight him for his half of the money, however when he sent the letter, he also attached two court documents. One of those documents clearly states what my objection is about, and NO WHERE in there does it say or even imply that I’m contesting anything that’s stated in the will. I wasn’t contesting the will. I was contesting the appointment of my aunts as the executors, which I had every right to do. I also love how he’s so confident I was going to lose my case by saying, “When you lose your case in November….”
As far as all the bullet points he shared, in the last set, his mathematics and arithmetics were completely off, according to my lawyer. I don’t know who gave him those figures, but they were way off. What’s more important than those however, are the other set in the beginning of the letter where my brother lists off everything he won’t be paying anymore and what the consequences to that will be. I will get more into that in my next post. 

3 thoughts on “The road to freedom Part 2 of 6

Leave a Reply

